Fashion, Lifestyle & Parenting Blog

The Stages of Tooth Development

Development Stages

Most of us don’t vividly remember the development stages from our younger years to the point when we become adults. When it comes to the development of our teeth, they also have the same cycle from the time we were young. The majority of people come into the world without a single tooth, save for a few exceptions. The first step comes with the development of baby teeth which serve a temporary role and then fall out. When you begin to reach teenage life, you develop a new set of teeth that form your permanent teeth. Permanent teeth, if they fall out, do not regrow as part of the structure of the body. The fascinating part is how you grow from a toothless toddler to develop hard teeth on the same spot where only gum was visible. The same spots that were previously on gums become the same spots that tear and cut food. Family First Wellness is familiar with each of the following stages, and such services can ensure the dental health of your children as they progress through these stages.

Bud Stage

It marks the first stage of teeth development and usually starts at eight weeks into a  child’s development. The dental lamina on the upper and lower jaw has a cluster of cells that give rise to the dental epithelium. The cells that form the dental epithelium develop to form the tooth germ that marks the first step towards tooth formation. The tooth germ consists of soft tissues that evolve to form the tooth.

Cap Stage

The interesting stage of tooth development involves the formation of the outside part of the tooth; the enamel that consists of a hard substance derived from the cap, which acts as a protective hard layer while the tooth develops at the inside. The next parts that form include the dental papilla and the pulp. The dental follicles also form at this stage.

Bell Stage

This stage marks the development of the enamel organ. It starts by forming a characteristic bell shape with the enamels differentiating into four distinct cells. The cells include Inner enamel epithelium, Stellate reticulum, Outer enamel epithelium, and Stratum intermedium. The four different cells work in harmony to form the enamel of a tooth.

Crown and Root Formation

The final development of the enamel and the dentin occur at this stage. The tooth root also forms and comprises of root canals and dentin. It marks the step before the tooth starts erupting from the jawbone.

Eruption Stage

It begins when the tooth enamel has formed a proper crown, and the root form starts developing. The root moves the tooth towards the oral cavity that occurs in a vertical motion. The jawbone tissues detach, forming the teeth, and the jawbone reforms around the tooth to free it for further development. The difference in the type of tooth occurs because of the time of the eruption. Each type of tooth will erupt at different stages of tooth development to give it the distinct features it has, including the incisors, canines, molars, premolars, and wisdom teeth. Baby teeth erupt first and then fall out, followed by the permanent teeth which develop later. When a complication occurs during the tooth development process, specific conditions manifest such as the overcrowding of teeth, non-eruption of a tooth, and deformity on the jawbone.